ETBF's Medal History

European Bowling Tour: A Historical Review / Page 1

The European Bowling Tour is owned by The European Tenpin Bowling Federation.

The European Bowling Tour is organized and governed by the ETBF Presidium. The daily operation of the tour is handled by the ETBF Tournament Committee.

The tour is composed by tournaments, which are owned by their organizers, typically bowling centres and in some instances federations or private persons. The organizers apply once a year to get their tournaments adopted in the tour.

The European Bowling Tour was established in 1999 and was organized for the first time in 2000 with 9 tournaments, conducted in 8 different federations.

In the newest issues of the European Bowling Tour, there have been different categories of tournaments in the tour, characterised by a difference in prize pools and other parameters.

For the moment being, the categories are EBT Satellite, EBT Bronze, EBT Silver, EBT Gold and EBT Platinum tournaments.

In each tournament, 50 men and 50 women are ranked separately by a point scale, which value depends on the category of the tournament. After the conclusion of each tournament, an updated issue of the standing of the two divisions of the tour is published at ETBF's Website.

In the last 12 years, between 15 and 20 tournaments has been adopted in the tour each year.

The prize pool each year lies in an interval of $800.000 - 1.100.000 \in$, with an average of $50.000 - 60.000 \in$ per tournament.

The number of athletes taking part in the tour lies between 3.000 and 4.000 per year, with an average number of athletes, normally over 200 per tournament.

Since 2008, the EBT Masters has been the final of each European Bowling Tour. The EBT Masters includes the 12 highest ranked men and the 12 highest ranked women in a tour.